fbpx

How to watch and what to expect

0


(Cybertech) – Google is holding an event, called Launch Night In, at the end of the month. There was initially some confusion about whether it would be streamed online, but the company has since confirmed everyone at home will be able to tune in to watch its latest hardware be unveiled. Here’s everything you need to know.

When is Google’s event?

The online-only special event is set for 30 September 2020 at 2pm ET. Here are the times around the globe:

  • San Francisco – 11:00 PDT
  • New York – 14:00 EDT
  • London – 19:00 BST
  • Berlin – 20:00 CEST
  • Mumbai – 23:30 IST
  • Tokyo – 03:00 JST 1 Oct
  • Sydney – 04:00 AEST 1 Oct

How to watch Google’s event

Google hasn’t shared the live-stream video yet. We hope to embed it above once it becomes available. It will likely be streamed on the company’s YouTube channel, but Google has also lined up a microsite for the event.

What to expect from Google’s event

The TL; DR version is Google will likely unveil the recently teased Pixel 5 smartphone and Nest Audio smart speaker, plus a Chromecast. Don’t believe us? Google’s invite to the media literally said: “We invite you to learn all about our new Chromecast, our latest smart speaker, and our new Pixel phones”.

New Pixel phones

Google has teased that the Pixel 5 and a 5G version of the Pixel 4a are on their way. We suspect the Pixel 5 will be the star of the show, as the new device. You can learn more about the Pixel 5 in our guide here. We also have a Pixel 4a 5G rumour roundup here.

New Chromecast with Google TV

As for the new Chromecast, it’s supposedly codenamed Sabrina. The most recent Chromecast models – the Chromecast Ultra and Chromecast third-generation – were announced in 2016 and 2018, respectively. The new Chromecast is expected to change direction dramatically compared to those previous versions.

So far, Chromecast has only been a link between your TV and content, relying on a separate device to control it – your phone or laptop, for example. If new rumours are accurate, the new Chromecast will come with a remote and offer a user interface.

You can learn more about the new Chromecast in our guide here.

New Google Nest Audio

Google has alsooteased a new Nest Home speaker, by releasing an image of the device in July. It looks like it will sit between the Nest Mini and the larger Google Home Max, with the ability to stand vertically. We have a rumour round-up on the upcoming Google Nest Home speaker, too.

Is that it?

For now! Cybertech plans to cover all of Google’s announcements live, so stay tuned to this page, as surprises could happen on event day.

Writing by Maggie Tillman. Editing by Chris Hall.



[ad_2]

Source link

You might also like